Category: Further Education

Special Facilities to Women for Research Work

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has informed that it has initiated several measures to promote enrolment of women in Ph.D and M.Phil. courses. The measures include lying down provisions in the UGC (Minimum standards and procedure for award of MPhil/Ph.D. for relaxing the maximum duration for completion of Ph.D or MPhil. by women candidates for a further two years and one year, respectively; allowing transfer of research data in case of relocation of an M.Phil/Ph.D woman scholar due to marriage or otherwise; and allowing women candidates maternity leave/child-care leave once in the entire duration of M.Phil./Ph.D for up to 240 days. The regulations are at

The UGC has further informed that it provides grants to seven Universities and Deemed to be Universities, set up exclusively for women, engaged in teaching and research activities in the country. These universities are namely: (i) Sri Padmavati Mahila Vishwavidyalayam, Andhra Pradesh; (ii) Bhagat Phool Singh Mahila Vishwavidyalaya, Haryana; (iii) Karnataka State Women University, Karnataka; (iv) Smt. Nathibai Damodar Thackersey Women's University, Mumbai; (v) Mother Teresa Women's University, Tamil Nadu; (vi) Banasthali Vidyapith, Rajasthan; and (vii) Avinashilingam Institute for Home Science & Higher Education for Women, Tamil Nadu.

Read More